

League of United Latin American Citizens SAN BENITO COUNTY COUNCIL 2890

Established 1987 in Hollister, California Celebrating 36 Years of Service

IRMA C. GONZALEZ, PRESIDENT | EDUARDO CERVANTES PhD, VICE-PRESIDENT

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 25, 2023 Contact: (831) 297-2458 info@sbclulac.org

Harmony in Honoring Heroes: LULAC Extends Gratitude for Unprecedented Collaboration

By: Irma C. González, President, San Benito County LULAC Council 2890

In a remarkable testament to unity and shared purpose, The League of United Latin American Citizens Council 2890 (LULAC) proudly extends its deepest gratitude to VFW Post 9242 and American Legion Post 69 for joining forces. This historic collaboration has not only bridged gaps but has resulted in the selection of Larry Brown and Bryan Morse as the 2023 Veterans of the Year—a momentous occasion for our community.

For the first time in 30 years, LULAC, VFW Post 9242, and American Legion Post 69 stood together in recognizing the outstanding contributions of veterans. The decision to honor Larry Brown and Bryan Morse required a harmonious blend of perspectives and a collective commitment to appreciating the diversity within our armed forces.

Larry Brown and Bryan Morse embody the rich tapestry of our veteran community, their service transcends all boundaries. The joint effort to acknowledge their sacrifices reflects a renewed commitment to solidarity, showcasing the strength that arises when we unite for a common cause.

LULAC is profoundly thankful for the collaborative spirit demonstrated by VFW Post 9242, Commander Maria Spandri and Bernie Ramirez, and American Legion Post 69 and Robert DeLuna. Beyond the recognition of these two exceptional veterans, this historic alliance symbolizes a broader dedication to fostering inclusivity and shared values.





In this season of gratitude, LULAC celebrates not only the remarkable achievements of Larry Brown and Bryan Morse but also the power of collaboration that has brought us together. May this unprecedented coming together inspire future endeavors that emphasize the shared humanity and collective strength found in acknowledging and celebrating the service of those who have dedicated their lives to our nation.

LULAC VETERAN OF THE YEAR AWARD RECIPIENTS

- 2023 Larry Brown, U.S. Navy; Bryan Morse, U.S. Navy
- 2022 Gina Lopez & Robert DeLuna
- 2021 Maria Spandri; Joseph Liera
- 2020 Wayne Norton
- 2019 Jim Gibson; Ralph Marquez; Adam Mendolla
- 2018 Daniel Pagaran, Post Everlasting; Memorial Mention William McFarlance; Calvin Arthur Bremmer, Post Everlasting
- 2017 David Martinez, Post Everlasting; Joel Ortiz; Robert Caballero
- 2016 Bernie Ramirez & Sam Rivera
- 2015 George Nava; Tommy Nava; David Nava; Nathan Vasquez
- 2014 Sonora Vasquez, Cesar Flores, Larry Brown
- 2013 Hector Torres
- 2012 Nazhat Parveen Sharma; Ron Sanchez
- 2011 Felipe Galvan, Jr.
- 2010 Mike Pulido
- 2009 James Perales, Post Everlasting
- 2008 Richard Herrera
- 2007 Matt Caffiero & Refugio Chavez
- 2006 Rudy Rodriguez, Post Everlasting; Gordon Machado
- 2005 Ruben Lopez; Scott Brooks; John Alnas, Post Everlasting
- 2004 Elaine Reyna; Frank Lucchetti, Post Everlasting
- 2003 Edward Quinonez
- 2002 Cal Turpin, Post Everlasting; Jim Caffiero & Vince Luna,
- 2001 Greg Thul, Post Everlasting; Rick Solano, Robert Martin Del
- Campo
- 2000 Raymond "Dede" Valles, Post Everlasting
- 1999 Bob Bouchard, Post Everlasting
- 1997 Robert Picha
- 1996 Manuel Chavez
- 1995 Louta Pinuela, Post Everlasting
- 1994 John Z. Hernandez, Post Everlasting





Follow our official Facebook Page San Benito County LULAC Council 2890 Donate to our Scholarship Fund Visit the only authorized San Benito County LULAC Council 2890 website to learn me

Visit the only authorized San Benito County LULAC Council 2890 website to learn more!